Home » Ultra-Trail World Tour

Ultra-Trail World Tour

The Western States Endurance Run is proud to be part of the Ultra-Trail World Tour (UTWT).


Each year since 2014 we have reserved six spots for elite athletes from outside North America to gain entry into Western States through UTWT. Qualified elite athletes should contact UTWT for more information. Please note that runners who gain entry into WS via UTWT must pay the entry fee just like every other runner in the race.

Runners who gain entry into WSER through UTWT must agree to participate in the QUARTZ Event Program, a health and anti-doping program managed and administered by International Trail Running Association (ITRA), Athletes For Transparency Association (AFT) and Ultra Sports Science Foundation (USS). WSER has no affiliation with, or control over, the Quartz Event Program, other than agreeing to require its UTWT entrants to participate. For more information on the Quartz Event Program, including mandatory medical disclosures, pre- and post-race required urine, blood, or salivary tests, and prohibited substances, see this document.

Athletes who have or will run WS via UTWT:

2020. Six overseas athletes and four North American athletes.

  • Lucy Bartholomew F Australia
  • Luzia Buehler F Switzerland
  • Kellie Emmerson F Australia
  • Hayden Hawks M USA
  • Keely Henninger F USA
  • Camille Herron F USA
  • Tom Owens M GBR
  • Sebastien Spehler M France
  • Audrey Tanguy F France
  • Tim Tollefson M USA

In 2019, just like in 2018, we allocated four spots (2 men and 2 women) to top North American Runners who intend to participate in UTWT in 2019.

  • Francesca Canepa F ITA
  • Tom Evans M GBR
  • Clare Gallagher F USA
  • Jordi Gamito Baus M ESP
  • Gediminas Grinius M LTU
  • Camille Herron F USA
  • David Laney M USA
  • Marie McNaughton F NZL
  • Beth Pascall F GBR
  • Patrick Reagan M USA

2018 (due to the cancellation of the Golden Ticket race Gorge Waterfalls, we’ve awarded those 4 spots to top North American Runners.)

  • Lucy Bartholomew F 22, Australia
  • Erik Clavery M 38, France
  • Francois D’haene M 32, France
  • Cecilia Flori F 37, New Zealand
  • Didrik Hermansen M 38, Norway
  • Stephanie Howe Violett F 34, USA
  • Emilie Lecomte F 39, France
  • Kaci Lickteig F 31, USA
  • Patrick Reagan M 31, USA
  • Jim Walmsley M 28, USA


  • David Byrne M 36, Australia
  • Tofol Castanyer M 45, Spain
  • Erik Clavery M 37, France
  • Fiona Hayvice F 41, New Zealand
  • Andrea Huser F 43, Switzerland
  • Ildiko Wemescher F 52, Hungary


  • Tofol Castanyer M 44 Soller, Spain
  • Francois Dehaene M 30 Saint Julien, France
  • Didrik Hermansen M 36 Oslo, Norway
  • Ruby Muir F 24 Napier, New Zealand


  • Cyril Cointre M 33 Faverges, France
  • Emmanuel Gault M 38 Uzes, France
  • Thomas Lorblanchet M 35 Clermont Ferrand France
  • Claire Price F 46 Hong Kong
  • Emma Roca F 41 Tallo, Spain
  • Andrew Tuckey M 39 Asquith, Australia


  • Beth Cardelli F 34 Berowra Heights, Australia
  • Brendan Davies M 37 Woodford, Australia
  • Yoshikazu Hara M 41 Takaraduka, Japan
  • Thomas Lorblanchet M 34 Clermont Ferrand, France
  • Mauclair Nathalie F 43 Champagne,¬†France
  • Ryan Sandes M 32 Cape Town, South Africa